Burnham Bunch: It’s a Colorful Day!

January so cold and blah. So, I decided to bring in some COLOR! I read two books that bring an immense amount of color to any day: Mix It Up by Hervé Tullet and Bears Colorful Day by Karma Wilson & Jane Chapman. I can not express how much I LOVE Mix It Up by Hervé Tullet! It is a perfect book for storytime. No need for a flannel board or props. Because the book IS the prop. I stand up and move around and interact with the kiddos. As I introduced the book, I suggested that it is magic — I am telling you they can’t wait to help mix it up! Stop by your local library and borrow I copy. You will see what I mean!

Oh, and did I mention that we have a new parachute?! Yipee! I have been pining for one for quite sometime, but I didn’t think it would work in our small library. BUT, they make a nice compact 6′ sized chute. Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos of it’s inaugural usage. The wee folk LOVED it (and maybe not so secretly, so did I!)

Our colorful craft for the day? Painting! Aluminium foil, poster paint, and a variety of brushes set out on the table … and the kiddos went to town!

Hope you all have a very colorful day!

 

Leave a Reply

