Burnham Bunch: Bears

Who can resist Karma Wilson’s Bear?? Well, I know I can’t! So, I try to use her books during storytime as much as I can! So today, we read Bear Wants More by Karma Wilson and About a Bear by Holly Surplice. Inspired by Kaewei Honeybees for our story-prop, I Googled-up some images of the various foods mentioned in Bear Wants More. I printed and laminated the photos. and constructed a ‘bear’ using a paper bag and construction paper. As I read, the children ‘fed’ our bear some treats. But, you know what “BEAR WANTS MORE!” This really is a fun read-aloud!

Jbrary (I truly love you two ladies) provided our fingerplay for today: Two Little Black Brown Bears (I changed it to brown bears, because Karma’s Bear is brown, of course.) Last up we painted some bears using forks! I love surprising my wee folk with different painting tools. Look at the concentration in their faces!

Leave a Reply

